Business analyst certification for beginners

Business Analyst Certification for beginners – ECBA Certification

Business Analyst Certification for beginners

IIBA ECBA certification is a business analyst certification for beginners. This article provides all the commonly asked questions about this certification program. This entry level certification for business analysts was launched on September 30, 2016 by IIBA.

What is ECBA Certification?

ECBA is the Entry Certificate in Business Analysis and is designed for professionals, who wish to enter the field of business analysis. This certification is expected to test your skills and proficiency of business analysis skills at the beginners level.

Does the ECBA certification expire or need to be renewed?

No, ECBA certificate is valid for life and does not need to be renewed unlike CCBA and CBAP certifications.

What are the eligibility criteria for ECBA certification?

The eligibility criteria for ECBA Certification examination are as follows (as per IIBA website):

  • No previous BA work experience required
  • 21 hours of professional development in the last 4 years (IIBA EEP like Techcanvass training can provide you the PDUs)
  • Agreement with the ECBA™ Code of Conduct.

Is ECBA Certification meant for freshers?

Yes, it’s meant for freshers or any professional, who would like to become a business analyst.  This certification is applicable for:

  • Working professionals but with no experience as a business analyst
  • Fresh Graduates

I am an IT professional, is ECBA Certification applicable for me?

ECBA Certification is an entry level certification and is applicable for every professional. If you are an IT professional and are new to business analysis field, this certification is for you as well. However, if you are familiar with the basics of business analysis skill set, you can go for mini courses designed to speed up your entry as business analyst.

What is the format of ECBA Certification exam?

ECBA Certification examination is a multiple choice test. The duration of the ECBA exam is 1.5 hours . The exam consists of 50 multiple choice questions.

What is the syllabus for ECBA Certification?

ECBA Certification is based on IIBA BABOK v3 guide. BABOK has six knowledge areas covering the competency of business analysis. It also defines underlying competencies and techniques. BABOK guide is also applicable for CCBA and CBAP Certifications. The ECBA certification coverage is less than CCBA and CBAP certifications. IIBA has defined the following weightages of knowledge areas for ECBA Certification:

  • Business Analysis Planning & Monitoring – 5%
  • Elicitation & Collaboration – 20%
  • Requirements Life Cycle Management – 20%
  • Strategy Analysis – 5%
  • Requirements Analysis and Design Definition – 24%
  • Solution Evaluation – 1%

You can find more information on the certification at the following links:

Certification blueprints

ECBA Certification detailed information

Every IIBA member gets this book for free. You can buy it from amazon as well.

What is the ECBA Certification cost?

The ECBA certification cost is country dependent. The fees comprises of membership fees as well as application and exam fees. The membership fees varies from USD 55 to 125 depending on the country.
India comes under region 3 with a membership fees of USD 55. United States of America is in region 1 and the membership fees is USD 125.

You can check the fees for your country by visiting the IIBA membership page:

IIBA Global membership fees

How can I take the test?

You can take this test anywhere and don’t need to go to any centre. You can read our ECBA Examination article to know more..

How to prepare for ECBA Certification Exam?

I have written another post on – ECBA Certification exam preparation strategy. Read to know how to prepare for the exam?

About Techcanvass

Techcanvass offers IT certification courses for professionals. We are an IIBA endorsed education provider (EEP), iSQI ATP (for Certified Agile Business Analyst Training) as well as Agile Testing alliance partner for CP-SAT certification training in Selenium.
We have a Business analyst training course with domain training in-built into it. This training program offers you the opportunity to get certified with ECBA certification as well as have banking domain understanding.

IIBA ECBA certification Training

Business Analyst Training - ECBA Certification

Business Analyst Training with Banking Domain

Business Analyst Training Banking

Business Analyst Self-learning Course

Business Analyst Training Self-learning Course


  1. If I have no experience (training or professional) in anything related to BA. However, I have 5+ years in Financial Services (Treasury/Investment Management, Risk Management), can I still have a chance of eligibility requirements for the ECBA exam?

  2. Hi
    I wanted to take this entry level BA, i have no experiance and i have 6 years of career gap. Can i still elligible for this certification. ..i want to fresh start my career so i am opting this to upgrade my knowledge.

Leave a Reply to Arjav Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *